Creative Arts Therapy Certification


CELA offers two levels of professional certification:

  • Intermodal Creative Arts Facilitator (ICAF)
  • Intermodal Creative Arts Therapist (ICAT)



Prepares candidates to facilitate individual and group sessions using intermodal Creative Arts approaches. This level of certification is appropriate for educators, artists, consultants, and other professionals who would like to expand their knowledge and use of the creative arts in their work. ICAF Program requirements



Prepares candidates to facilitate individual and group intermodal Creative Arts Therapy sessions. Requires candidates to have independent licensure, (for example, LICSW, LMHC, Licensed Psychologist, Nurse, MD, MFT,) prior to admission into the program. ICAT Program requirements


Choose from two concentrations:


CELA’s Certification Programs meet the International Expressive Arts Therapy Association’s (IEATA) supervision and training from an Expressive Arts Institute requirement for the Registered Expressive Arts Consultant/Educator (REACE) credential and the Registered Expressive Arts Therapist (REAT) credential.


For more information: Protection Status