ICAF Certification Requirements

The CELA academic year runs approximately September 1st through June 30th and is made up of four, 10-week sessions. The Intermodal Creative Arts Facilitator (ICAF) Certification Program requires the completion of 5 General Education courses, Arts Area coursework, Facilitation Skills 1, and Facilitation Skills 2. CELA classes are all online. Each online class is 30 contact hours. Students must pass each CELA online course with a grade of B- or higher in order to receive their certification.


General Education Requirement 

  • FA001  Culture & Diversity
  • FA002  Group Process & Creative Arts for Facilitators
  • FA003  Human Growth & Development Across the Lifespan
  • FA004  Required Reading
  • FA005  Art Entwined with Life


Arts Area Requirement 

Every ICAF candidate is required to select a primary arts area and two secondary arts areas within which they will focus their fieldwork experience. Intermodal Creative Arts involves moving among different arts areas. ICAF certification requires the arts area coursework to be in classes whose focus is in an arts area—arts classes. This is not an arts-in-therapy program. CELA requires the following minimum number of contact hours for each arts area of focus:

  • 50 contact hours in a primary arts area (2 classes)
  • 25 contact hours in a secondary arts area (1 class)
  • 25 contact hours in an additional secondary arts area (1 class)


CELA currently offers online courses in the following Arts Areas:

  • Visual Arts
  • Music
  • Language Arts / Creative Writing
  • Culinary Arts
  • Individualized Focus


Facilitation Skills Requirement

  • FA006  Facilitation Skills 1: Supporting Populations through the Creative Arts
  • FA007  Facilitation Skills 2: Putting it all Together

Supervised Fieldwork Requirement

ICAF certification requires completion of a 40 hour supervised fieldwork experience with 50 hours of individual supervision. The fieldwork must be conducted at a CELA-approved site. Students  must successfully complete FA006 Facilitation Skills 1 in order to enroll in FA007 Facilitation Skills 2. The required fieldwork and supervision hours are completed as part of the FA007 course requirements.


Apply Today!


CELA’s ICAF and ICAT Certification Programs meet the International Expressive Arts Therapy Association (IEATA) supervision and training from an Expressive Arts Institute requirement for the Registered Expressive Arts Consultant/Educator (REACE) credential and the Registered Expressive Arts Therapist (REAT) credential.